Publishing and Sharing Maps
This guide describes how you can share any CARTO map with your teammates, or publish a map to the internet, using CARTO Builder.
When you create a map, it’s always private by default.
To be able to share a map, you need to add data and a title to the map:
Once you have added data and a title to your map, the Share button will be enabled and you will be able to share your maps with your organization, by clicking the Share button on the top-right to open the sharing options.
A new dialog screen will open allowing you to select who you want to share your maps with:
Here you’ll find three different sharing options:
- Private: Only you can view and open it.
- Organization: The map will be visible to all users in your organization.
- Public Map: The map will be visible to anyone in the internet with the link.
Remember that if your map is “shared” or “public” you’ll need to push your changes. So, if there is an small green dot in the top right corner of the Share button means there are changes that has not been updated yet:
In order to save the changes and publish them we must click in the “Publish Updates” button, once you click in the previous sharing button:
Public maps have some extra options: to share the link with the public, to get Developers information for embedding, or to work with CARTO for developers. You can toggle between these subtabs and select the option you are interested in.
If you have Single-Sign On (SSO) enabled at your organization, you will be able to share maps only with specific groups inside your organization, instead with all users belonging to it.
You can also protect your maps before sharing them by enabling password protection and setting a map password.
Once you have set your map password, select your public map option and click on Apply.
When someone opens the link, they will be asked to enter the map password before loading the map. Insert the map password and click on Continue to visualize the map or contact the owner if you need access.
Once your map is shared or public, you can manage the state of the map for your viewers (so your editing doesn’t affect their experience). When you’re ready to push an update, click on the Share button:
You will see the date for the last time the map changes were pushed to the viewers. If you want to update it and push the current version, click on Publish Updates:
Viewers will see always the version of the map that you last updated.
When sharing your map with other people as viewers (ie: a public map or a map shared with the organization) you can control the final experience for the viewers using the following settings:
- Refresh data sources every N: This option will make sure that the data displayed in your map is not older than the time specified in the setting.
- Scroll wheel zoom: when enabled, viewers will be able to use their mouse wheel to zoom in or out.
- Show performance warnings: checking this option will make warnings regarding performance appear for viewers too, for example, when using large datasets or zooming too far away.
Finally, press “save” to confirm your changes.
CARTO embed maps can be controlled via URL parameters. These parameters allow to dynamically configure an existing map. This is specially useful when building story maps with no-code tools. Take a look at this tutorial to know more about it.