This guide describes how you can delete existing maps from CARTO Workspace, the organization area; and also from CARTO Builder, our map editor.
To delete an existing map, go to “Maps” and click on the three-dotted menu in each map card. If you are the owner of the map, you will have access to the 3 available options: Edit name & description, Duplicate map and Delete.
To be able to delete a map from Builder, click on the three-dotted menu in the top right of Builder.
When you click the Delete quick action, a dialog will appear allowing you to confirm that you want to delete the selected map and warning you that this action cannot be undone.
Note that if you delete a map that is shared (Organization or Public Map), other users will lose access to it and the public version of the map will become unavailable.
In the following examples, the map has been shared and therefore the dialog shows a different warning depending on whether your map has been shared with the organization or it is a public version.